A New Poll….

I’m not looking to save the world with a question or anything. I’m just wondering what people think about the “eternal purpose” of God. I have in view, for background sake, the following Scriptures: Ephesians 1:9-11 and Ephesians 3:10-11.

I listed three very random answers in the poll, but am thinking that many people will add their own answer. Please feel free to leave comments.

Looking forward to reading!

Thanx!

BTW, on a personal note: I believe the MOST important endeavor of our entire lives is to wrestle with this question until God reveals it not only to us, but in us. Also, this question is not only an individual pursuit, but rather a vocation of His Body when gathered.

4 Responses

  1. The following are the “other” answers that have been given. The second is my goofy sister-in-law.

    To fill everything with Christ.

    To teach us how to spell properly. 😉 -dmg

    To reconcile all of creation back unto Himself, so that all things are One.

    To glorify Himself.

    I would like to know who offered these, and maybe come comments regarding them. Thanx for sharing!

  2. I gave the third: To reconcile all of creation back unto Himself, so that all things are One as He is One within Himself.

    I’m not sure who put the last one – to glorify Himself – but I cannot see that as the chief end and purpose of God because I don’t believe God is narcissistic and in need of any glory from us or any continual recognition of glory outside of Himself (I believe this is John Piper’s chief contribution to theology, although, sadly, I believe it is not a good contribution). To be sure, glory is important, and as image bearers, it is one of the things we are to reflect, but I believe the theme of unity and oneness is much more pervasive in the Scriptural narrative than glory is.

    I guess I didn’t talk about mine much, but if you’ve read Rob Bell’s third book, or if you’ve read N.T. Wright, then you see my position pretty much. God has from the beginning had a plan through Israel to set the world to rights: to bring all things into perfect harmony and reconciliation so that, as 1st Corinthians 15 says, God may be all in all. God will, of course, be ultimately and timelessly glorified in this, but that is not the main point. The main point is that all things are as they should be: that there will be a holy and sanctified community that is one with God in community as God is one within each of three Persons in community. In this community, there will be peace, love, worship, glory, adoration, and every other good thing. In other words, there will be Heaven, or Kingdom. Everywhere. Forever.

  3. Here, for those who care, are the “Other” answers I’ve received:

    #1 – To fill everything with Christ
    #2 – to reconcile all of creation back unto Himself, so that all things are One
    #3 – To glorify Himself
    #4 – To be glorified.
    #5 – To be untited in love with His creation.

Leave a Reply

