My First “Viral” Book On the Way…

I must admit I am excited to be a part of a network of “viral” bloggers who get a free book to review on a regular basis. You can find more information on this network and join at: http://viralbloggers.com/.

So, my first book is on the way…

Jesus, Interupted” by Bart Ehrman is going to be…um…well, interesting to say the least. This is basically what the book is about:

  • Only 8 of the 27 books of the New Testament were actually written by the authors to whom they’re attributed. Others are likely forgeries.
  • The gospels provide remarkably divergent portrayals of  Jesus.
  • The message of the Apostle Paul and the message of gospel writer Matthew are completely at odds over the question of whether a follower of Jesus also had to observe the Jewish law.
  • The Nicene Creed and the Trinity were constructs of the later church and are not found in the pages of the Bible.
  • Traditional doctrines such as the suffering Messiah, the divinity of Christ, and the notion of heaven and hell are not based on the teachings of the historical Jesus.
  • The commonly told story of Jesus — his birth, death, and resurrection is actually a composite of four vastly different gospel narratives.

So, yeah, I guess that pretty much sums up what I’ve gotten myself into!! 🙂 I am actually looking forward to reading the book and posting some comments here, so be sure to check back in a couple of weeks…

Btw, here are some links you should check out about the book:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qADxEspNE-Q

http://www.harpercollins.com/book/index.aspx?isbn=9780061173936&WT.mc_id=PBAN_OOZE_JSINT_021309

http://blog.beliefnet.com/blogalogue/is-our-pain-gods-problem/

Please note, I don’t post this because I agree, I am confident that I will not agree. I am reading this book to learn.

Thanx!

8 Responses

  1. I seen that book as well, and it turned me off. Your post reminded me that we should be willing and able to deal with the tough questions. And let’s face it, many people today are asking the questions that this book addresses. It’s important that we be informed. I’m going to see if I can get this book as well… if it’s not too late.

  2. Hey man… so, how do I select one of the books… I can’t order none of them, lol.

  3. Did you figure it out? They may all be gone. Did you log in to your viralblogger account? Let me know how it goes.

    BTW, if we get two different books, we may be able to swap them and blog about both. It’s a thought anyway.

  4. I think I missed the books. I don’t know. I don’t even see an option like “Send me this book.” Oh well, I guess better luck next month.

  5. Hey Jeff – I’m pleased t be a part of the viralbloggers thing too, though I haven’t finished my first book yet: Samson’s “Enough.”

    Just one little comment. My understanding is that writing something but “signing” it as if it was written by someone else was actually an acceptable practice in the first century. Apparently, it reflected a kind of modesty and was a way to honor the person whose name you used, indicating that they were the important person, while you were just someone trying to faithfully develop and disperse their ideas.

    “Forgery” by contrast is recognized as an unacceptable practice, based on an attempt to deceive others which doesn’t appear to be the case for the New Testament documents. So you may want to use a different term when you talk about the authorship issues around these writings.

    Unless of course that’s the term that Ehrman uses in the book, in which case you’re just doing a good job of faithfully representing what he says!

    Kudos for taking on a challenging topic, by the way, something we all should endeavor to do regularly.

    Tim

  6. Thanx, Tim. That was actually a quote from the cover, I think. I am not sure where it came from, but I quoted it as I saw it.

    I actually haven’t received my book yet. I hope it comes soon.

  7. That is a surprise! I looked at the book on Amazon and you’re right – the inner flap has several bullet points, including this: “The New Testament includes books that were forged in the names of the apostles by Christian writers who lived decades later.” Since it’s on a flap, maybe the word choice has more to do with selling the. I’ll be interested in reading your review to see if you can tell us whether Ehrman chooses his words more carefully in the main text when he discusses authorship.

Leave a Reply

