Best Intentions…

Sometimes even our best intentions, really screw things up. One day, hopefully soon, I will learn to speak less, type less, argue less, and think that I am right less. Instead, I hope to listen more, read more, agree more, and consider my own thoughts with trepidation and care.

Jesus said:

A tree is identified by its fruit. if a tree is good, its fruit will be good, If a tree is bad, its fruit will be bad. You brood of snakes! How could evil men like you speak what is good an right? For whatever is in your heart determines what you say. A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of an evil heart. And I tell you this, you must give an account on judgement day for every idle word you speak. The words you say will either acquit you or condemn you.

Matthew 12:33-37, NLT

I needed to read this. Recent activity in my life has once again scolded the little boy within. Too often, I choose to vindicate myself by poking my nose where it belongs not. Why? I guess it is my continued self-centeredness and search for significance outside of my relationship with Jesus.

Sometimes I really suck at this life…

Oh, were it not for the grace and mercy of a kind, loving, and patient Father. It seems like when I have exalted myself to a height of arrogance and pride, He has a way of bringing me back to reality. Again, my thoughts are drawn to this Scripture:

But while knowledge makes us feel important, it is love that strengthens the church.

1 Corinthians 8:1b, NLT

Thanx…

Leave a Reply

