Settling In

Well, after a flurry of activity with having a new baby, visits from grand-parents, Spring break, baseball cranking up, and the regular chaos of the Rhodes household, we are settling back into the routine. Levi is doing great. He wakes up once during the night and Kacey and I are taking turns by the night. It seems different this go around. Maybe it is because it has been a while. Maybe I am just that much older. I don’t know, but my nervousness is gone, and I do remember how to hold, feed, burp, change, and clean a baby.

I have finally finished reading “Unchristian” by David Kinnaman and Gabe Lyons. Every Christian should read this book. It is real, and candid. It will make you critically think how you and your church are representing Jesus to your community. Whether you agree with the content or not, it will cause you to think about things you have probably never thought about, and that is the point.

I have picked “Vintage Jesus” by Mark Driscoll back up and begun reading it again. I think I will share a lengthy quote from chapter two tomorrow that is sure to tick some of my readers off. Oh, well, at least I didn’t actually say it. I will just quote it, so tune in later for that.

Anyway, business is moving along, and I have a new contract employee that will start soon. I hope this works out well for both of us. It seems like I have some good things happening in Tennessee and possibly Texas. I am blessed with my line of work. I have freedom of time, and opportunity to be financially free from debt and employers. I am a devoted free-market capitalist. I think this is a Biblical concept. So with that, I encourage everyone to start their own business. It doesn’t take a lot of money, but it does require a lot of commitment, focus, time, education (not necessary paid for education either), and ambition. You must have a “do-not-quit-under-any-circumstance” mentality.

Hum, this was a weird post. I didn’t really have a direction, so it didn’t really go anywhere. 🙂

Thanx!

Leave a Reply

