How Do You Represent?

Christians can be some of the most caring, generous, concerned, and loving people on the face of the earth…to other Christians. However, often, when it comes to people who don’t know Jesus and are even hostile to His claims, Christians can be arrogant, legalistic, and self-righteous. It is as though Christians get confused sometimes and think that people are their enemy, forgetting that Paul said we don’t fight against flesh and blood, but against the powers of darkness that are unseen by the eye.

I am still reading through “Seeker Small Groups” by Gary Poole. This is a fascinating look at one very effective way to build bridges of trust and concern between Christians and non-Christians. In the 8th chapter, he shares a poem that a seeker wrote to Lee Strobel about her journey to Christ. I thought this was a powerful testimony of how we can actually care about lost people and love them into the presence of Jesus, instead of just pointing out their errors and arguing them away from Him.

Do you know
do you understand
that you represent
Jesus to me?
Do you know
do you understand
that when you treat me with gentleness,
it raises the question in my mind
that maybe he is gentle, too.
Maybe be isn’t someone
who laughs when I am hurt.
Do you know
do you understand
that when you listen to my questions
and you don’t laugh
I think, “What if Jesus is interested in me, too?”
Do you know
do you understand
that when I hear you talk about arguments
and conflicts and scars from you past,
I think, “Maybe I am just a regular person
instead of a bad, no-good little girl
who deserves abuse.”
If you care,
I think maybe he cares –
and then there’s this flame of hope
that burns inside of me
and for a while I am afraid to breathe
because it might go out.
Do you know
do you understand
that your words are his words?
Your face, his face
to someone like me?
Please, be who you say you are.
Please, God, don’t let this be another trick
Please let this be real.
Please.
Do you know
Do you understand
that you represent
Jesus to me?

The young lady that wrote that poem was saved shortly after that! You know, I’ve heard all my life that I may be the only Jesus some will ever see. I believe that. The problem has always been that I really didn’t know who Jesus is. My prayer is that I will continue to know Him more so I will adequately represent Him as the loving Savior He is. I want to be able to see the people around me as He sees them. I want to love them as He loves them. I want to be concerned about their lives today and for eternity. I trully want to care.

Thanx!

Leave a Reply

