Books

In response to a friends “pressure” to update my book list, here is what I am currently reading and/or studying:

  • Cashflow Quadrant: Rich Dad’s Guide to Financial Freedom by Robert T. Kiyosaki
  • The E Myth Revisited by Michael E. Gerber
  • Wall Street the Basic Secrets Seminar by Gary Williams
  • One Thing You Can’t Do In Heaven by Mark Cahill
  • Seven Practices of Effective Ministry by Andy Stanly, Reggie Joiner, and Lane Jones (I am also listening to a podcast that can be found at www.practicallyspeaking.org)
  • Get Out of That Pit by Beth Moore

I am also still trying to read:

  • Bowling Alone by Robert D. Putnam
  • Seeker Small Groups by Garry Poole
  • A Framework for Understanding Poverty by Ruby K. Payne
  • House Church and Mission by Roger Gehring
  • Soul Cravings by Ralph Erwin McManus

I am still studying through:

  • Church Planting Movements by David Garrison
  • The Epistle to the Ephesians by Paul (who was Saul)
  • All of the Pastoral Epistles and General Epistles (1 & 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, 1, 2, & 3 John, 1 & 2 Peter, and Jude)
  • The ancient journal (or “BC Blog) of Nehemiah

In the near future, I am planning on studying through the book of:

  • Job

My family and I are also reading through:

  • Genesis

And finally, for my LTG, I am reading and listening to:

  • Proverbs

I guess I should really be reading more, but that is all I can fit in.

Thanx!

5 Responses

  1. Reading more???!!! You might need to take a break before your head explodes, lol. I can only focus on one or two books at one time….and the Alan Hirsch book is going painfully slow (though almost finished). It’s at more of college-level than most of my college books are.

    I’m bout to start reading two Tozer books, God’s Pursuit of Main, and The Pursuit of God. And also Neil Cole’s Cultivate a life for God and Organic Church.

    Some of my other’s on the soon to read list include: Dispensationalism by Ryrie and Rethinking New Testament Textual Criticism by David Alan Black and God Gave Wine by Kenneth Gentry Jr.

  2. Geez, Rhodes:

    Got time to do any ministry in there?!?

  3. đŸ™‚ Of course!! Aside from sleep (about 7 hours) I have roughly 17 hours in a day to get things done. I typically read about 2 of those hours, spend quiet time with God about 1 hour, at least 4-6 hours I spend with my family, usually about 4 I spend working my business, and that leaves about 3-4 hours for hanging out in the community looking for opportunities to share Jesus, with about 1 hour to goof off.

    This outline of time is very loose and varies greatly depending on what’s going on, but it is close.

    Thanx!!

  4. Have you read “Rich Dad Poor Dad” yet? Life changing!!

  5. I actually haven’t read that book yet, but it is certainly on my list. I got Cashflow Quadrant eventhough it was the second book in the series because I found it first. You know we’ve got 15 of these things to read!!

    Thanx!

Leave a Reply

