A Simple Reflection

Sometimes things just hit me out of nowhere in particular. This morning I nearly cried. Now, before you think me to be “silly” or “sappy”, let me explain. It happened as I waited in line to drop Caleb, my youngest, off at preschool. It has happened from time to time with all of my boys. Today, was really no different.

You see, I love my boys. As reported in an earlier post we are expecting our fourth. We, of course, don’t know if it will be a boy or a girl yet, but for now, I know I have three boys, that will some day be young men. As I thought about them this morning, I remembered the little white bowl of fishing worms sitting a top their tackle box in the living room. I thought about their bike and scooters on the back patio. I thought about those stupid little cars that always seem to find their way beneath my foot. I thought about their smiles and gigles that always seem to come at just the right moment. I watched as Caleb bounded out of the back door with his “turtle-like” backpack in tow, and I couldn’t help but think about holding each one of these little guys in one arm not too long ago.

Yep, I cried. In fact, I am fighting back the tears so I can see the screen now. As I reflect on these things, and many more, I begin to think about that big nasty world outside my window. I feel my stomach tense, and am sure that I feel at least a small release of adrenaline into my system as my mind wants to switch into “protect” mode. I can literally feel the depths of my body change as I think of all that the enemy has in store for my boys.

Then, it hits me. Could this be a small glimpse of how God feels about His children? My mind is drawn to simple passage of Scripture that reads, “And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully.” (Ephesians 3:18-19a, NLT)

Width, length, height, depth. These words give a parameter, but this Scripture doesn’t give any limits, for there are no limits on God’s love.

It is amazing what a little thinking can do…

Thanx!

2 Responses

  1. There is nothing better than your own kids!!!! 🙂

  2. Great post, Jeff! And, Congrats on the Fourth! Kristie (my wife) is carrying our 3rd! God is good!

Leave a Reply

