Confrontational Ministry

Well, my least favorite thing in ministry is confrontation. It’s hard to be. or at least feel like, the “bad guy”. However, this is a necessary task. I always find myself wanting to take the conversation in other directions, especially at the beginning. You know what I mean, crawfishin’. I can feel myself wanting to waver and fold like a wet dish rag or make up excuses, but, then, somewhere deep inside, God kicks my butt, and spurs me toward Truth and Love.

It happened today. I had to confront an ongoing issue with a couple of new believers involved with CrossLife. They are fresh disciples and yearn deeply to follow the Way of Jesus, but totally lack some internal motivations. Well, God showed up. Wow. Thanx, God.

I spend so much stinkin’ time wringing my hands like a little school boy at the principal’s door awaiting my moment to face the brutal facts of my inadequacy, only to find that a gracious and loving God opens the door with wisdom and out-stretched arms. And, then He doesn’t gruffly say suck it up and figure it all out. No, instead, He says, you certainly don’t know, but I do, then, He simply says, trust me on this. What else could I do?

You see, I’ve been reading through Proverbs a lot lately, and I am so grateful for this. It just seems like God really directs my thoughts and words, especially when I finally admit I have no idea what to do or say. Frankly, I have spent more time in total ignorance over the last year than I would have ever thought possible. It’s a good thing this isn’t all about me…

Thanx!

Leave a Reply

