Why is this in my head?

Why is this in my head? This is a thought I have had for a few years now. This is a thought that plagues my other thoughts when I am trying to spend quality focused time with my family. This is a thought I carry when I am trying to focus on my work. I can’t get this thought out of my mind! In fact, it has only gotten louder, and sometimes it is the only thought I can even think. It is a thought that rakes me over the coals. It is a thought that brings me to my knees in tears of repentance. It is a thought that keeps on thinking, and absolutely will not go away. It is a thought that I have finally given into and begun an exploration of uncharted waters. Ususally, I find myself where I never imagined I would be. Honestly, sometimes I wish I could go back to before this thought broke into my conscienceness. Life was easier then.

 What thought, you may ask?

Why isn’t Jesus ever good enough for us?

Why are we always looking for something else? Don’t mistake what I am saying. I am a good and proper evangelical! I know that Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life. I know that He is the only reason I could ever even think about speaking to or approaching God. I know that Jesus is sufficient for my eternal salvation. That is not the question in my mind.

Instead, the question revolves around life after being born again. If Jesus is enough to save me, forgive me, cleanse me, and make me acceptable to God, why isn’t He good enough to make me who He wants me to be afterward? Why isn’t His method of discipleship good enough to pattern our methods after? Why is His simplicity not good enough for our complicated lives? Why do we think our classes, methods, books, papers, ideas, or whatever are better for getting the lost world turned toward Jesus?

I will confess that I am quite the idiot. I haven’t figured anything out except for some reason Jesus loved me and us enough to offer Himself in our place to pay our debt of sin. That’s pretty stinkin’ good!! Yet, if He, in fact, is that good, why on earth do we stop there? Why do we focus on the Virgin Birth and the Crucifixion with the subsequent Resurrection, and nearly forget about the 33 1/2 years in between? Why don’t we spend more time in our seminaries talking about what Jesus did to start His first church, rather than focusing all our attention on Paul? (Not to discredit Paul, or ignore him, but to give him his proper place behind Jesus!) Why don’t we spend more time talking about what Jesus did from our pulpits and lecterns? Why don’t we give Jesus the preimenense He rightly deserves? If He is good enough for salvation, why can’t He be good enough post-salvation?

I’ll tell you why I think it is: it is just too simple. After all, we don’t get credit for brain-storming revolutionary new tactics and methods. Our books become bland and out of focus. We have to give up power and prestige. We can’t just do what we’ve always done. We can’t be lazy anymore. We must get very uncomfortable and face the brutal facts. We are not getting the job done of discipling the nations. We sit in our ivory towers of holy nostalgia, gold-tongued worship songs, and eloquent sermons, while people die and go to Hell. We throw stones at those who care enough to venture out into uncharted waters, yet we sit cuddled in our holy huddles. We have to let go, and let God. We have to actually, for the first time in our lives, trust Jesus more than we trust ourselves.

This thought scares me. Why can’t I get it out of my head? God, help us.

Thanx!

2 Responses

  1. I think the thought renders us helpless. It makes us realize that we’re nothing and God is everything… that we must give up all that we want for all that He demands. To give up your possessions, time, talent, family, and your very self, is a scary thought. It’s a thought that fights against our natural desire for self-preservation and self-satisfaction. Basically, it’s a war against our whole human nature. The Bible tells me that a house divided against itself cannot stand, and that is what happens to us. When we give it all up, we are left in a puddle… broken and miserable. It’s only when we “let go” and “let God” that He takes us, His clay, into His masterful hands to reform us into the image of His own dear Son. It’s only when we throw it all away that we can become what God has always intended for us to be. It’s easy to say that I’ll give it all up for God, but in reality it’s an almost impossible task. Maybe that is why for almost everyone “Jesus simply is not enough…” Sad, but true

    Jeff Turpin

  2. Hey Jeff – love the new look. I enjoyed reading through all the posts and seeing you writing again. Great challenges here – especially the continual reminder to enjoy and practice the simplicity of Christ. I’m a long way from that right now, but by God’s grace I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

