God’s Stuff, Not Ours

I have been reminded again lately that my life is not about me. It is about what God is doing in, through, and around me. Over the last few weeks, God has been doing some amazing things among us in Cross Life. We have met several people who don’t know Jesus, and we have had the privilege of sharing His Good News with them several times. What is awesome is that we, as a church planting team, have all been involved in what God is doing. It is a thrill to see everyone getting their hands into the huddle and letting God live His love through us in tangible ways.

As I said in the post before, I have been reading through the New Testament in the “The Message” by Eugene Peterson. Last night I came to Hebrews. He writes an introduction for each book, and I wanted to share this quote from his introduction to Hebrews:

“It seems odd to have to say so, but too much religion is a bad thing. We can’t get too much of God, can’t get too much faith and obedience, can’t get too much love and worship. But religion – the well-intentioned efforts we make to “get it all together” for God – can very well get in the way of what God is doing for us. The main and central action is everywhere and always what God has done, is doing, and will do for us. Jesus is the revelation of that action. Our main and central task is to live in responsive obedience to God’s action revealed in Jesus. Our part in the action is the act of faith”

He goes on to say that the book of Hebrews was to focus all attention on Jesus alone. It is easy to do life as Jesus-and- “fill in the blank”. You know what I mean, things like Jesus-and-my dreams, or Jesus-and-my traditions, or Jesus-and-money, or even Jesus-and-Buddha. Hebrews is a book that sets all that straight in our minds. For two-thousand years people have had a Jesus-and mentality. I will admit that has been my life. Actually, many times it was something else all together and I didn’t even bother to think about Jesus.

Over the next couple of weeks I plan to pray through the book of Hebrews. I want my life to be defined by what God is doing through Jesus in my life, not by what I do. I want God to be in control, expressing His love and grace through my actions, words, and attitude.

Thanx!

Leave a Reply

