The Message

OK. I am going to confess that I love reading a paraphrase version of the Bible. “The Message” by Eugene Peterson has become a passionate read in my life. I love how he paraphrases things into our way of saying things today. Sometimes it makes me laugh at the frankness of the expressions. I will tell you that I would question some of his paraphrasing. I don’t necessarily agree with it all; however, he is the scholar, so I’m not going to mention any specifics and argue points. I like to read “The Message”. In fact, in the last month I have read through John, Luke, Acts, Romans, 1 & 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Colossians, 1 & 2 Thessalonians, and just started today with 1 Timothy. My goal is to finish the New Testament within the next couple of weeks. If you enjoy reading the Bible (which you SHOULD!!), I would recommend getting a fresh perspective on it’s age-ole message by reading “the Message”.

BTW, Please don’t bother with telling me I am a heretic for propagating a paraphrased version of the Scriptures. It is a waist of your time and my space. 🙂

 Thanx!

2 Responses

  1. Hairy Tick!! I am actually reading through the message right now. My daughter Bethany likes me to read it to her.

  2. I love The Message also. A version I like even better than The Message is The Book. What a great read. However, since you’ve introduced me to the NLT, I’ve been enjoying it as well.

Leave a Reply

